Birds & Beasts: music by Martyn Bennett and Fraser Fifield

Mr McFall's Chamber

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Martyn Bennett was one of Scotland’s most innovative musicians, combining the traditional and modern, the local and the international. A long-planned collaboration with Mr McFall’s Chamber was never realised during his tragically short lifetime. For the group’s second disc with Delphian, Robert McFall has put together a programme of his own sympathetic arrangements of Martyn’s music alongside original works by Fraser Fifield, another of Scotland’s virtuosic musical innovators. The premiere recording of Bennett’s Piece for string quartet, percussion and Scottish smallpipes epitomises his sophisticated mastery of fusion.

‘Mr McFall’s Chamber, Fraser Fifield and their guests have created a wonderful thing; a collection of recordings that not only pays tribute to Martyn Bennett’s skill as a composer, arranger, musician and entertainer, but develops his music beyond what he was able to accomplish in his lifetime, and in the direction he would have wished’
— Folk Radio UK, June 2010

‘[Mr McFall’s Chamber are] fast developing a reputation as one of Scotland’s most innovative classical ensembles’
— The Independent, May 2010

  • Recording venue(s): Castlesound Studios, Pencaitland
  • Recording dates: 28-30 October 2009
  • Physical format: Jewel case
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Number of tracks: 9
  • Total playing time: 1:02:50

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.