John McLeod: Moments in Time

Red Note Ensemble

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Increasingly acclaimed at home and abroad, Aberdeen-born John McLeod’s music bears all the hallmarks of exuberant colour and precisely imagined fantasy that his early associations with Lennox Berkeley and Witold Lutosławski would lead one to expect. Recorded during the composer’s eightieth birthday year and released to mark Red Note Ensemble’s new recording partnership with Delphian, this landmark collection brings together McLeod’s four mythological ‘songs’ – powerful dramatic scenes in which instruments are elevated to voice-like expression – and a further work which crystallises the theme of a single moment with a long expressive ‘shadow’. The extraordinary chamber musicians gathered here, two of them Delphian solo artists of long standing, display unequalled virtuosity and passion on a disc which is sure to confirm Red Note as among the UK’s premier contemporary music ensembles.

‘This music, in turn dramatic, serene and — in The Song of Phryne — thoroughly erotic, is brilliantly performed’
— Sunday Times

‘Combative and assured playing by the Scottish contemporary music band Red Note Ensemble’
— Gramophone, August 2015

‘Here we have five bold and bright chamber pieces, chiefly inspired by mythologies from the ancient world … the members of Red Note Ensemble, superb Scottish specialists in the contemporary, deliver every piece with precision and relish’
— BBC Music Magazine, October 2015

  • Recording venue(s): St Mary’s Parish Church, Whitekirk, East Lothian
  • Recording dates: 10-12 December 2014
  • Physical format: Jewel case
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Number of tracks: 6
  • Total playing time: 0:59:14
  • First UK release date: January 15, 2006

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.