Rachmaninov: Songs

Evelina Dobraceva, Ekaterina Siurina (sopranos)
Justina Gringyte (mezzo-soprano)
Daniil Shtoda (tenor)
Andrei Bondarenko, Rodion Pogossov (baritones)
Alexander Vinogradov (bass)
Iain Burnside (piano)

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Disc 1

Disc 2

This first complete recording for twenty years of Rachmaninov’s published song output (with the addition of two delightfully comic occasional pieces) lays two further claims to importance: our seven singers – hand-picked by renowned pianist Iain Burnside – are all native Russian speakers, and every song is performed in the key in which Rachmaninov wrote it, respecting both the specificity of vocal colour and the carefully designed tonal and expressive trajectory within each opus. For the first twenty-five years of his career Rachmaninov regularly expressed himself in song, from Tchaikovskian beginnings to the extraordinarily personal range of vocal and pianistic utterance in his final two collections. Almost a century after exile brought down the curtain on this period of his creative output, Burnside and his singers bring these works to shimmering, gushing, crackling, magnificent life.

‘This is a richly rewarding and fascinating set … the star of the show is undoubtedly Burnside, playing throughout with unfailing intensity and sensitivity: voice and piano are truly equal partners here, and the results are electrifying’
— The Telegraph, February 2014, FIVE STARS

‘Burnside’s brilliant playing … allures the ear at every turn’
— Sunday Times, March 2014

‘I was quickly won over by Andrei Bondarenko’s burnished baritone sound and sensitivity … The two sopranos are top-note perfect … Burnside remains a firm, clear companion throughout’
— BBC Music Magazine, May 2014

‘Practically everything … rings true in this set, sung gloriously with palpable heart and soul’
— Gramophone, May 2014

‘Bondarenko, who won the song prize at Cardiff Singer of the World in 2011, is a delight with his honeyed, even tone and faultless phrasing. Burnside accompanies with his usual tact and intelligence. As a whole, the set is a very distinguished piece of work’
— The Guardian, April 2014

  • Recording venue(s): Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh
  • Recording dates: 15-16 September 2012, 12-24 November 2012 & 11-12 January 2013
  • Physical format: Box set
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Number of tracks: 73
  • Total playing time: 3:00:18
  • First UK release date: October 14, 2003

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.