Rory Boyle: Music for clarinet

Fraser Langton (clarinet)
James Willshire (piano)
Trio Dramatis

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Building on the legacy of Rory Boyle’s own youthful studies as a clarinettist and pianist, the works on this new portrait disc span a near forty-year compositional period, from the Sonatina – written as a gift to Boyle’s teacher Lennox Berkeley – to Dramatis Personae and Burble, written for the present performers. Fraser Langton’s communicative flair in this music – with its striking rhythmic energy and refreshing absence of sentimentality – is infectious, while pianist James Willshire already has an acclaimed solo album of Boyle’s piano music to his credit (released on Delphian in 2011, Boyle’s sixtieth-birthday year). Together, and joined by Rosalind Ventris on viola in the concluding trio, they bring to life the composer’s inventiveness, humour, and unfailing sense of melodic line.

‘The earlier works, although very different in style, are clearly the work of the same musical mind, particularly in the pursuit of all the capabilities of the wind instrument. It is not difficult to understand why Langton has been so assiduous in asking Boyle to write for him.’
— The Herald, March 2017

  • Recording venue(s): Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Glasgow
  • Recording dates: 4-6 September 2016
  • Physical format: Jewel case
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Number of tracks: 13
  • Total playing time: 60:08
  • First UK release date: March 24, 2017

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.