Songs and Lullabies: new works for solo cello

Robert Irvine (cello)

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Inspired by the plight of disadvantaged and mistreated children around the world, Delphian artist Robert Irvine has commissioned 18 new pieces for solo cello. As a musician who works at the heart of the English and Scottish scenes, he is able to draw on an impressive roster of friends and colleagues that includes some of the UK’s leading composers. Each of them has contributed a short solo piece, drawing out the cello’s most lyrical aspects, while Irvine’s own startling alertness to the finest expressive nuance further enhances this unique recording project.

‘Irvine responds to each piece with the same sincerity, imagination and technical assurance; lovely playing, captured in warm, natural sound. A well-produced document of a very worthwhile project.’
— Gramophone, November 2016

  • Recording venue(s): Chapel of Loretto School, Musselburgh
  • Recording dates: 11-13 December 2015
  • Physical format: Jewel case
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Number of tracks: 19
  • Total playing time: 1:19:58

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.