The Cellist of Sarajevo: chamber music by David Wilde

Robert Irvine (cello)
Red Note Ensemble

Preview available. Click track number to listen

Disc 1

Disc 2

David Wilde – extraordinary pianist and musician, pupil of Franz Reizenstein and Nadia Boulanger – is the veteran of nine Delphian piano recordings, documenting his remarkable Indian summer as a performer. Now, the label turns to his compositional output: cellist Robert Irvine and his colleagues in Red Note Ensemble survey the works that emerged from Wilde’s ‘Bosnian’ period, when he travelled to besieged Sarajevo to help preserve the city’s cultural life, earning him the friendship of colleagues including the heroic members of the Sarajevo String Quartet. Wilde has made his home in Scotland since his retirement from teaching in Hanover, and the respect in which he is held by the leading chamber musicians of his adopted country shines through here, in their performances of music which recalls his earlier life in Central Europe and bears witness to the legacy of a dark period in late twentieth-century history.

‘This is very powerful, interesting and extraordinary music, beautifully written. It’s controlled, it’s focused … it’s beautifully organised as well as deeply felt.’
— BBC Radio 3 Record Review, November 2016

‘A musical voice that communicates with the immediacy and authenticity of direct, lived experience … the results are truly memorable’
— Gramophone, January 2017

‘Anyone with a belief in a possibility of “abstract” or “pure music” needs to listen to this album’s transition from the aching lament of the title piece … to the spiky opening of Wilde’s String Quartet No1 … this set is also very much a showcase for Red Note founder Robert Irvine who takes ownership of the title piece.’
— The Herald, January 2017

‘This is music to memorialise, to bear witness and to remind us of our complicity … Wilde has long been resident in Scotland, and Scottish contemporary music specialists the Red Note Ensemble are entirely at one with this sometimes screamingly emotive music, in accounts bristling with conviction and drama, but which also show admirable restraint.’
— The Strad, February 2017

  • Recording venue(s): Broughton St Mary’s Parish Church, Edinburgh
  • Recording dates: 14-16 December 2015
  • Physical format: Jewel case (slimline double)
  • Number of discs: 2
  • Number of tracks: 13
  • Total playing time: 1:24:28
  • First UK release date: November 18, 2016

To download booklet, please log in. If you don't have an account, simply create one by buying one of our products.